Skip to content
Truepoint-Casestudy_pics-

TruePoint 在新建的办公室中使用 NavVis VLX 进行快速现实捕捉

案例研究
2021年5月

利用 NavVis VLX 可穿戴移动扫描系统捕捉顶尖医生办公室的建成情况和高清照片。

关键点

  • TruePoint 公司用 NavVis VLX 可穿戴式扫描系统捕捉了办公室内的情况,VLX 系统为该公司提供了一个快速的扫描工作流程,并轻松捕捉了高清彩色图像。

  • 该团队采用多种扫描方法,用架站式扫描仪捕捉了建筑物的外观。

  • 只用2.5小时便扫描了 3500 平方英尺的资产—— 用 NavVis VLX 扫描了30分钟,而用架站仪扫描了2个小时。

  • 在用 NavVis VLX 进行行走扫描该环境时,专家手动拍摄了40多张彩色的高清全景图像。

  • TruePoint 为其客户的新办公室制作了非常详细的建筑现状文档,以及用于营销材料的彩色高清图像。

  • NavVis IVION Core(标准版)使该客户以及未来所有的利益相关者都能够不受位置限制得从任何智能手机、平板电脑或笔记本电脑上远程访问点云和全景图像。

Truepoint-Casestudy_pics-6

 

慢性疼痛点

美国阿拉巴马州伯明翰附近的一家内科诊所入驻的一家3500平方英尺的先进办公室。建筑师用2D CAD 软件设计了该建筑,这些图纸被多个企业应用于整个建筑过程中。

听起来没问题,但实际情况却截然不同。客户需要的信息远不止2D图纸那么简单。他们需要的是一个彩色的、精确的3D数据集,它需要反映所有的建筑和结构元素,以及实际建造时的平面图。他们需要这个数据集来完成各种重大的任务,包括安排持续的设施维护和运营,以及规划未来的扩建和翻新。

在此基础上,客户还有一个要求。他们还需要将3D数据集着色,并纳入足够清晰的高清彩色图片,以用作营销材料。

医生的指令

客户聘请了 TruePoint 激光扫描公司的优秀团队来捕捉这些数字资产。TruePoint 公司的东南区域经理 Andy Foshee 说,该团队将多种扫描方式相结合来应对此项目。他们使用 NavVis VLX( 一款可穿戴的移动扫描系统)拍摄了室内的情况,该系统允许他们在行走时进行扫描。接着,他们用架站式扫描仪拍摄了建筑物的外观。工作流程的最后一步是他们将数据集登记在一起,产生一个单一的点云。

Foshee 说,TruePoint 选择 NavVis VLX 来扫描此项目的主要原因之一是该设备可以轻易地捕捉客户需要的高清图像。

Foshee 说:“使用 NavVis VLX,你将亲自走过你想扫描的区域,只需按下按钮就可以拍摄高清照片。这样一来,我们可以选择在建筑物的特定地点拍照,并获得客户需要的图像。"

想了解更多有关如何将移动扫描整合到您现有的激光扫描工作流程中的信息吗?

与专家交流

一个简短的会谈

由于 NavVis VLX 提供了移动扫描的能力,这就意味着它能为我们的客户提供另一个好处:速度。Foshee 说:“我们必须在非工作时间扫描大楼,才不会干扰正常的商业运作。”

他补充道:“但由于 NavVis VLX 收集数据的速度比其他扫描仪快,这个问题便迎刃而解。机场的情况是我们会在一个晚班内完成3,500平方英尺的办公室的扫描,这次我们在大约30分钟内就完成了内部扫描,而其余部分用了不到2小时。整个工作流程缩短了,让我们能更快地离开现场。”

“我估计,NavVis VLX 将我们在现场的时间平均缩短了50%。”

“NavVis VLX 收集数据的速度比其他扫描仪快。我们能在约30分钟内扫描3500平方英尺的办公室,2小时内完成剩余部分。整个工作流程缩短了,让我们能更快地离开现场。“我估计,NavVis VLX 将我们在现场的时间平均缩短了50%。”

Andy Foshee (TruePoint)

Andy Foshee
TruePoint 激光扫描区域经理

 

 

Truepoint-Casestudy_pics5

结论:卓越

最终,TruePoint 为该3500平方英尺的办公室提供了一个的彩色点云和40张高清图像。该公司将所有这些数字资产上传到 NavVis IVION Core(标准版),以便于从电脑、平板电脑或手机上的任何标准网络浏览器中进行访问。这将使利益相关者能够根据自己的需要下载点云数据和图像,以便在未来的项目中用于离线的 CAD 或 BIM 平台。TruePoint 还利用 NavVis IVION Core(标准版)向客户发送了高清图像。

“我们的客户对我们提供的3D数据和图像印象非常深刻,” Foshee 说。

“他们对3D的数据形式以及在其营销材料中使用高清图像感到非常激动。如果没有 NavVis VLX,这个项目能实现吗?”Foshee 问道。“可以——但该设备的易用性、更快的扫描能力以及捕捉彩色高清照片的能力使整个过程变得更加容易。”

“真正的360度照片的质量,点云的密度,以及数据5-10毫米的全球精度,使我们能够更快地扫描一个地点的同时,仍然保持我们客户需要的精度水平。我坚信 NavVis VLX 将成为激光扫描行业的颠覆者。”

Ryan Hacker (Truepoint)

Ryan Hacker
TruePoint 激光扫描公司总裁

 

 

NavVis-LSP-background-website

在移动扫描革命中向前更进一步

移动扫描设备的速度和可扩展性是有史以来数一数二的,为最具挑战性的项目带来测绘级的精度。亲自体验 NavVis VLX,发掘无限可能。
预定演示

Skip to content
Truepoint-Casestudy_pics-

TruePoint uses NavVis VLX for fast reality capture in a newly-constructed office

Case study
May 2021

Capturing as-built conditions and HD photos of a state-of-the-art doctor’s office with the NavVis VLX wearable mobile mapping system.

Key takeaways

  • TruePoint captured the interior with the NavVis VLX wearable mapping system, which provided a fast scanning workflow and easy capture of HD color imagery.

  • The team used a hybrid scanning approach and captured the building exterior with a terrestrial laser scanner.

  • Scanning the 3,500 sq ft asset took just over 2.5 hours – one 30-minute scan with NavVis VLX, and 2 hours of scanning with a terrestrial Laser Scanner.

  • While walking through the building to scan with NavVis VLX, the specialist manually snapped 40+ color HD panoramic photos.

  • TruePoint generated highly detailed as-built documentation for their client’s new office, as well as colorful HD imagery for use in marketing materials.

  • NavVis IVION Core gives the client and any future stakeholders remote access to the point clouds and panoramic imagery completely independent of their location – from any smartphone, tablet or laptop.

Truepoint-Casestudy_pics-6

 

A (chronic) pain point

An internal medicine practice near Birmingham, Alabama, US commissioned a state-of-the-art 3,500 sq ft office. The architect designed the building in 2D CAD software, and the drawings were used extensively by multiple trades throughout the building process.

So far so good, but here’s the problem: The client needed more information than the 2D drawings could offer. They needed a colorized, accurate 3D data set, which would reflect all architectural and structural elements, as well as the floor plan as it was actually built. They needed this data set for a wide variety of high-value tasks, including arranging on-going facilities maintenance and operations, and planning future additions and renovations.

On top of that, the client had one more request. They needed the 3D data set to be colorized and include hi-definition color photos crisp enough to use in their marketing materials.

What the doctor ordered

The client hired the talented crew at TruePoint Laser Scanning to capture these digital assets. TruePoint’s regional manager for the southeast, Andy Foshee, says the team attacked the project with a hybrid approach. They captured the interior using NavVis VLX, a wearable mobile mapping system that allowed them to scan as they walked. Then, they captured the building exterior using a terrestrial laser scanner. At the end of the workflow, they registered the data sets together to produce a single point cloud.

Foshee says one of the primary reasons TruePoint picked NavVis VLX for this project is the ease of capturing the HD imagery the client required.

“With NavVis VLX, you’re already walking through the areas you want to capture,” says Foshee, “and you can just press a button to take your HD photos manually. That means we could pick and choose where in the building to snap and get the images the client needed.”

Eager to learn more about how to integrate mobile mapping into your existing laser scanning workflows?

Talk to an expert

A short appointment

Since NavVis VLX offers the ability to scan on the move, this means it offered our client another benefit: speed. “We had to scan the building off hours so we wouldn’t interfere with normal business operations,” says Foshee.

“But since NavVis VLX collects data faster than other scanners, this wasn’t a problem. We were able to capture the 3,500 sq ft office in one evening shift – I was finished with the interior in about 30 minutes, and the rest within 2 hours. The whole workflow is shorter, and this got us off site sooner,” he adds.

"I’d say that, on average, NavVis VLX cut our time on site by 50%.”

“NavVis VLX collects data faster than other scanners. We were able to capture the 3,500 sq ft office in about 30 minutes, and the rest within 2 hours. The whole workflow is shorter, and this got us off site sooner. I’d say that, on average, NavVis VLX cut our time on site by 50%.”

Andy Foshee (TruePoint)

Andy Foshee
Regional Manager, TruePoint Laser Scanning

 

 

Truepoint-Casestudy_pics5

Prognosis: Excellent

In the end, TruePoint delivered a single colorized point cloud and 40 HD images for the 3,500 sq ft office. The company uploaded all of these digital assets to NavVis IVION Core for easy access from any standard web browser on a computer, tablet, or phone. This will enable stakeholders to download the point cloud data and imagery as needed for use in offline CAD or BIM platforms on future projects. TruePoint also used NavVis IVION Core to distribute the HD images to the client.

“Our client was very impressed with the 3D data and imagery we provided,” says Foshee.

“They are very excited about the 3D data and using the HD images in their marketing materials. Would this project have been possible without NavVis VLX?” Foshee asks. “Yes – but the device’s ease of use, the ability to scan faster, and the ability to capture colorized HD photos made the whole process much easier.”

“The quality of the true 360-degree photos, point cloud density, along with the 5-10mm global accuracy of the data, allows us to capture a site much faster while still maintaining a level of accuracy that our clients need. I truly believe NavVis VLX will be a game changer in the laser scanning industry.”

Ryan Hacker (Truepoint)

Ryan Hacker
President, TruePoint Laser Scanning

 

 

NavVis-LSP-background-website

Take the next step in the mobile mapping revolution

The speed and scalability of mobile mapping devices are the best they've ever been, bringing survey-grade accuracy to the most challenging projects. Get hands on with NavVis VLX and see for yourself what's possible.
Book a demo