跳至内容
230831_INTERGEO_hero_reseller_dinner

发掘您企业的真正价值

了解与行业标准的解决方案相比,如何将您的项目时间缩减高达80%
让我们帮您拓展业务

发掘您企业的真正价值

了解与行业标准的解决方案相比,如何将您的项目时间缩减高达80%

让我们帮您拓展业务
NavVis-VLX-3-Culver-Street-topographic-mapping-09133_header_small

什么是地形测量?

您需要了解的关于使用 SLAM 扫描仪进行地形测量所需的一切信息

目录
正在加载...

简介

您一定听说过关于同步定位和地图构建 (SLAM) 扫描仪的传言:该技术可以帮助您更快地完成测绘,获取更丰富的站点信息,并改进您的交付成果。它甚至能够提高您在现场的安全性。

但您可能对这些传言持怀疑的态度。作为一个专业人员,您的声誉与选择正确的技术息息相关,您需要在做出承诺之前广泛了解信息。SLAM 扫描究竟是如何工作的?如何将其用于地形测量领域?它的工作流程是否复杂?它的数据是否足够准确?它看起来就像一个黑盒子技术,怎样才能相信它的结果呢?

本指南将为您一一解答这些和更多的问题。我们将首先普及地形测量的基础知识,然后介绍当今最常用的测绘工具的优缺点。接着,我们会解释什么是 SLAM 扫描、它是如何工作的、如何使用它以及它能为您做些什么。

那就让我们开始吧。

观看 NavVis 技术在实际项目幕后的应用

地形测量什么是?

地形测量,有时也称为地形图或碎部测量,它测绘的是一片土地的边界和特征。它能绘制当前地形条件的精确地图,通常用于工程或建筑项目的准备工作。

根据不同的项目,最终测绘交付成果可能包括等高线、边界线、自然环境特征、建筑物和结构、路缘、道路设施(如标志牌和灯柱)、公用设施或其他地理特征等。

工作流程:传统地形测量

工具

机器人全站仪、棱镜和全球定位系统(GPS)。机器人全站仪可精确测量距离和角度,棱镜则可反射全站仪的光束;GPS 设备可提供地球表面的精确定位。

  1. 使用 GPS 设备布设控制点并进行测绘
  2. 将这些控制点坐标转移到全站仪上,作为所有其他点的依据
  3. 将全站仪安装在能清楚看到测量区域的地方
  4. 步行前往第一个测量特征的位置
  5. 使用棱镜和 GPS 设备捕捉测量点的特征
  6. 根据需要移动棱镜和 GPS 设备,重复上述步骤直至测量完成
  7. 返回办公室
  8. 处理和分析数据
  9. 绘制测绘交付成果(地图、报告、模型等)

常见交付成果

  • 数字高程模型(DEM):地理裸露表面(不包括自然地貌)的三维表示。以固定的间隔表示海拔值。
  • 数字地形模型(DTM):用河流、植被等自然特征增强 DEM 的三维模型。
  • 3D 建筑模型:地理定位模型,可显示现场任何建筑的位置、布局和尺寸。
  • 计算机辅助制图 (CAD) 地图:二维地图使用点和线图来标示必要的细节和特征。
NavVis-VLX-3-Culver-Street-topographic-mapping-09108_small

工作流程:使用架站式激光扫描仪(TLS)进行虚拟测绘

工具

全站仪或架站式激光扫描仪。 这些设备能用激光雷达(光探测和测距)传感器捕捉大量现场测量的数据,创建一个密集而精确的三维数据集,即点云。全站仪或 GPS 系统通常用于建立控制网络,架站仪的点云将与该网络连接。

  1. 设置扫描仪,确保覆盖范围最大,障碍物最少
  2. 捕捉点云
  3. 将扫描仪移动到下一个位置,确保与之前的扫描重叠,以实现全面覆盖
  4. 重复以上步骤,直至扫描覆盖整个场地
  5. 返回办公室
  6. 使用专门的点云软件将各个点云配准在一起
  7. 使用虚拟测量软件进行测量
  8. 绘制测绘交付成果

常见交付成果

  • 数字高程模型(DEM):地理裸露表面(不包括自然地貌)的三维表示。以固定的间隔表示海拔值。
  • 数字地形模型(DTM):用河流、植被等自然特征增强 DEM 的三维模型。
  • 3D 建筑模型:地理定位模型,可显示现场任何建筑的位置、布局和尺寸。
  • 计算机辅助制图 (CAD) 地图:二维地图使用点和线图来标示必要的细节和特征。

查看 NavVis VLX 3 的用例!

美国领先测量公司 Denn Engineers 在一个复杂的城市地区测试了 NavVis 技术,并将其与传统测量方法进行了对比。

- .e57格式的点云数据

-CAD 文件格式为 .dwg 和 .dxf

- PDF 格式的绘图

- .pdf版地形测量工作流程比较

痛点

这些工作流程提供了从边到边勘测站点的可靠方法。但两种流程都会带来巨大的挑战。

以下是传统测绘中最常见的痛点。

  1. 费力而耗时
    使用全站仪进行测量是一个繁琐的过程,需要捕捉大量的测量数据才能准确定义地物特征。想像一个简单的地理特征,比如笔直的路缘:您需要每隔15-20米捕捉一个测量点来确定该线路。如果路边有弯道,则需要多捕捉三个点。对于更复杂的特征,您需要捕捉更多的点。在拥有众多复杂特征的大型工地上,测量点的数量会迅速增加,项目工期也会随之延长。而且这有时与测量次数无关,而是测量之间的行走。例如,要拍摄一条道路,您需要走过路边的长度,跟踪这一特征,再走回路边记录通道线,走到道路中心记录中心线,最后在道路的另一侧重复这些步骤。因此,一条简单道路的长度最终需要多次扫描覆盖,耗费大量时间和精力。

  2. 静态扫描仪操作缓慢
    架站式激光扫描仪比传统全站仪快得多,但仍然会让人觉得缓慢而费力。加上安装扫描仪、采集数据和移动到下一个站点的时间,您可能要花费20分钟或更久的时间才能获得一个点云。如果一次勘测需要十几次的设置,就意味着要在场地上工作很长时间。

  3. 传统测绘的覆盖范围并不全面
    全站仪测绘的最佳做法是只测绘项目范围中定义的特征。这种方法虽然在项目重点扫描的地方效率高,但如果项目要求发生变化或扩大,这种方法就会变得效率低下。因此,如果利益相关者在测绘完成后要求提供计划范围之外的特征(如边界或路边线)的详细信息时,问题就出现了。这时就需要返回现场进行第二次测绘,花费额外的时间和费用。 

  4. 数据缺口
    激光扫描仪只能捕捉视线范围内的特征。如果不仔细规划,将所有遮挡物考虑在内,并增加额外的扫描以确保良好的覆盖范围,您的扫描数据中最终可能会出现空白点。而您要测绘的部分很可能就在这些空白点中消失。
  5. 安全问题
    在勘测点附近放置实体棱镜或 GPS 设备的需要可能会带来很大的安全隐患。例如,测量道路线意味着要站在繁忙的道路中央。这在传统的测绘工作流程中是需要十分谨慎的。 
  6. 缺乏图像资料
    图片能够为测绘提供丰富而宝贵的背景资料。可惜大多数全站仪 和安装在三脚架上的激光器都不能自动捕捉图像。因此,测量人员需要手动拍摄照片。而一项复杂的测绘已经足够让您忙碌了。结果经常是拍摄工作退居其次。  
Point-cloud-culver-city-520-topography-page-1

先进的测绘技术:SLAM 扫描

同步定位和地图构建(SLAM)扫描仪有望改变我们地形测量的方式。

SLAM 扫描仪与地面扫描仪非常相似,它可以捕捉适合虚拟测绘工作流程的 3D 数据。然而,SLAM 扫描仪在一个非常重要的方面有所不同:它们利用先进的传感器和算法,极大地改进了 3D 扫描的工作流程。

这些设备可以让您以步行速度捕捉 3D 数据。它们可以生成色彩饱满、逼真的点云,实现配准流程自动化,甚至可以减少差旅费用。它的好处还不止这些。

不过,在深入探讨其优势之前,让我们先回到开头,回答一些关于 SLAM 的基本问题。

NavVis-VLX-3-Culver-Street-topographic-mapping-09157_small

SLAM 简介

SLAM 指的并非特定的硬件或软件,而是一种技术程序的广义术语。它开发于上世纪80年代,用于帮助机器人在没有地图的情况下在新环境中自主导航。如今,从自动驾驶汽车到智能手机增强现实应用,SLAM 已被广泛应用于各种领域。它也是新一代激光扫描仪的关键成分。

SLAM 的工作方式有很多,但所有运作方式的基本思想都是相似的。为了演示其工作原理,下面将对三维扫描中 SLAM 的运转过程进行详细说明:

  1. 打开 SLAM 扫描仪
  2. 它利用激光雷达、摄像头和其他传感器捕捉周围的环境
  3. SLAM 算法会处理这些数据,以“识别”您周围的环境特征
  4. 它利用这些特征构建一个粗略的 3D 地图
  5. 推断自己在地图上的位置
  6. 当您移动设备时,它会从传感器收集新数据
  7. SLAM 算法将利用这些数据来改进其 3D 地图
  8. 这有助于提高其位置估算能力
  9. 等等

NavVis VLX 3 这样的先进 SLAM 扫描仪每秒可重复这些步骤数千次,并在您携带它的同时跟踪其自身路径。它还能绘制出清晰的三维地图,精确度极高。

点击此处查看我们的综合科普指南,了解更多有关 SLAM 的深度探讨 →

SLAM 与全站仪测绘相似

您可能在阅读了上述解释后,仍然认为 SLAM 是一种黑盒子技术。如果是这样,那么了解先进的 SLAM 扫描仪与全站仪所依赖的许多相同的原则可能会有所帮助。

前视和后视读数

在传统的全站仪测量中,前视和后视读数对精度至关重要。后视读数是将全站仪指向一个已知标高的参考点,而前视读数则是指向要测量的新点。这些读数有助于确定全站仪和测量点的位置和高度。 

SLAM 扫描仪还可参考先前建立的点来确定其三维位置。您可能隔一段时间就会进行这些计算,而 SLAM 扫描仪则会持续计算,从而提高测量的准确性和精确度。 

横向闭合扫描

使用全站仪工作时,有时会以再次测量起点来结束扫描。这就是所谓的闭合扫描,可以帮助检查和纠正测量中的差异或误差。您也可以通过 SLAM 扫描仪执行闭环扫描,来完成类似的操作。  

只需返回之前扫描过的区域即可。系统会自动将这一已知位置作为一个参考点,以读取更多读数,并纠正整个扫描过程中可能积累的误差。

控制网络

开始测绘时,首先要设置控制网络,包括建立测量点和基准。在整个测绘过程中,该网格将成为您进行其他测量读数的参考。

一些先进的 SLAM 扫描仪(如 NavVis VLX 3)还可以使用控制网络作为参考。当您处理云端的数据时,除了上面提到的读数外,复杂的算法还会使用这些控制点来提高最终点云的精度。

Point-cloud-culver-city-519-topography-page-1

工作流程:用于地形测量或碎部测量的 SLAM 扫描工作

虽然每台 SLAM 扫描仪都有自己独特的工作流程,但总体思路是相同的。下面我们来介绍一下如何使用 NavVis VLX 3 进行地形测量:

  1. 在整个工地建立测量控制网络
  2. 使用 NavVis VLX 3 在现场行走来采集 3D 数据集和高清全景图
  3. 使用内置触摸屏界面实时监控扫描进度并标记控制点
  4. 将 NavVis VLX 3 的腰带钩与控制点对准,以触发控制点的捕捉
  5. 保存数据并上传到 NavVis IVION 中进行云处理和优化
  6. 使用专业软件制作其他所需的测绘交付成果
工作流程-NavVis-第三方

专题新闻

SLAM 扫描在地形测量和碎部测量中的十大优势(以及更多)

SLAM 扫描为地形测量和碎部测量带来了多项巨大优势。

1. 提高扫描速度
首先,也是最重要的一点是:速度。由于 SLAM 扫描仪可以边走边采集 3D 数据,因此大大加快了扫描工作流程。想象一下一个使用全站仪需要11个小时才能捕捉到的站点。多年的现场测试和专业经验表明, 使用 SLAM 扫描仪只需2小时即可完成同样的扫描工作。

了解 NavVis VLX 3 与架站式激光扫描仪相比速度有多快 →

2. 高精度
测量人员对早期的 SLAM 扫描仪持怀疑态度,因为它们生成的点云精度很低。如今,该技术已经非常成熟了。

NavVis VLX 3 这样先进的 SLAM 扫描系统可以生成精度为 5 毫米或更高的点云,尤其是在测量控制点的时候。这些数据非常精确,足以分辨出路缘的前方和后方等要素。在制作 DTM、DEM 或 CAD 地图等交付成果方面也是一样。

3. 全面扫描数据
NavVis VLX 3 这样的 SLAM 扫描仪包括一个内置触摸屏界面,可实时提供扫描进度的视觉反馈。可以轻松地在屏幕上发现数据中的阴影,并绕过遮挡物来填补阴影。扫描结果将是一个全面的 3D 数据集,包含现场所有特征的测量数据。

4. 自动配准
全站仪每扫描一次都会生成一个点云。在准备交付成果之前,您需要将这些点云配准在一起。遗憾的是,三脚架扫描仪的配准过程往往会耗费大量时间。

而 SLAM 扫描系统则可完成自动配准,为您节省时间。例如,NavVis VLX 3 可利用 NavVis IVION 的计算能力来处理、优化和地理配准点云,将人工劳动降到最少。

5. 逼真的点云图像
NavVis VLX 3 这样的 SLAM 扫描仪可使用多个360°摄像头在您行走时捕捉高清图像。在处理阶段,配套的软件 NavVis IVION 将这些图像与点云相结合,可生成如照片般逼真的三维数据集。



您可以利用这些彩色点云来查看站点周围的细节,就像查看照片一样(效果还更好,因为还可以进行测量)。您可以放大道路线形、路缘和结构,近距离观察这些特征,为您解答许多问题,例如,道路有没有开裂?路面看起来还新吗?候车亭是否需要更换?

6. CAD 可交付成果自动化
如果您想进一步加快测绘工作流程,可以在处理数据后导出点云,并使用第三方工具(如 TopoDot)自动提取线形图、环境特征和细节,以快速生成高质量的 CAD 可交付成果。

7. 提高安全性
NavVis VLX 3 这样的 SLAM 扫描仪可在100米或更远的范围内进行测量。因此您可以获得道路线路或其他环境的详细信息,而不会将自己置于危险之中。

8. 无需关闭交通
SLAM 扫描让您无需停留在道路中央,因此无需在进行道路地形测量或碎部测量时关闭交通。这样最终可以为客户节省大量费用。

9. 减少旅行时间和花费
SLAM 扫描仪可生成全面、详细和准确的三维数据集,让您在办公室也能够进行虚拟测绘。当项目利益相关者需要计划之外的新测绘数据时,您只需在软件中打开三维数据集,执行一次虚拟测绘即可,无需差旅前往场地。

10. 通用性
SLAM 扫描系统坚固耐用,可用于多种环境,包括 工业设施, 建筑工地、停车场施公用事业建筑、桥梁以及、十字路口等城市环境

11. 使现场工作人员更加高效
这是该技术的另一个巨大优势。由于技术性劳动力的稀缺,实地小组可能很难配备人员。在地形测量和详图测量中采用 SLAM 技术有很大的优势,可以提高现场工作人员的工作效率,并为现有团队提供承接更多项目的机会。您的工作质量将得到提高,而且由于大部分工作都从受天气影响的繁忙街道转移到了办公室,您的团队将对工作更加满意。

Point-cloud-culver-city-522-topography-page-1

SLAM 扫描的现实经济效益

让我们来探讨一下这些优势对测绘业务意味着什么。以下是 NavVis 客户将 NavVis VLX 3 与传统测绘方法进行对比的一些实际测试。

城市道路测绘

该案例测绘了一个道路口,该路口占地5000平方米,拥有少量障碍物和遮挡物,照明一致,通视距离长,视野广。

与传统测绘方法相比,使用 NavVis VLX 3 扫描该项目具有以下优势:

  • 采集速度提高 2.5 倍
  • 办公速度提高 2.1 倍
  • 共减少35%的人工操作时间
lp-reduce-time-scenario-urban-road-survey-box-720x500

NavVis 的一位客户将现场所花费的时间减少了87.5%之多,交通管理支出减少,总体成本降低。 

lp-reduce-time-scenario-empty-parking-garage-box-720x500

停车场测绘

在此案例中,我们测绘了一个扫描条件类似的4.5万平方米的空停车场。
与传统测绘方法相比,使用 NavVis VLX 3 扫描该项目具有以下优势:

  • 快 2.5 倍的数据采集速度
  • 快 4.2 倍的办公速度
  • 共减少57%的人工操作时间
NavVis-VLX-3-Culver-Street-linework-517-webinar-advancing-topographic-surveys-events-page-04092024-wp-featured (1)

获取最新咨询

从 NavVis 团队获取一手的最新讯息、新闻和行业见解,以及不定期的实时简讯。

Skip to content
230831_INTERGEO_hero_reseller_dinner

Unlock the potential trapped in your business

Discover how you can reduce your project time by up to 80% compared to standard industry solutions
Let us help you grow

Unlock the potential trapped in your business

Discover how you can reduce your project time by up to 80% compared to standard industry solutions

Let us help you grow
navvis-campaign-hero2

Podcast

Scanning Realities

Laser-focused insights into the current geospatial landscape and beyond

NavVis-VLX-3-Culver-Street-topographic-mapping-09133_header_small

What is topographic surveying?

Everything you need to know about topographic surveying with SLAM scanners

Introduction

You’ve heard big claims about simultaneous localization and mapping (SLAM) scanners: The technology can help you complete surveys faster, capture richer context for the site, and improve your deliverables. It can even keep you safer in the field.

But you’re skeptical. As a professional whose reputation depends on choosing the right technology, you need to know more before you commit. How does SLAM scanning actually work? How do you use it for topographic survey? Is the workflow complex? Is it accurate enough? It looks like a black-box technology, so how can you trust the results?

This guide will answer all these questions and more. We’ll begin with the basics of topographic survey, then the pros and cons of today’s most common survey tools. After that, we’ll explain what SLAM scanning is, how it works, how to use it, and what it can do for you.

Let’s get started.

Watch NavVis technology in action behind the scenes of real projects

What is a topographic survey?

A topographic survey, sometimes called a topo or detail survey, maps the boundaries and features of a parcel of land. It produces an accurate map of current topographic conditions, usually as preparation for engineering or construction projects.

Depending on the project, the final survey deliverable might include contour lines, boundary lines, natural features, buildings and structures, curbs, road furniture like signage and lamp posts, utilities, or other features.

Workflow: Traditional topographic survey

Tools

Robotic total station, prism, and GPS systems. A robotic total station measures distances and angles with great precision, while a prism is designed to reflect the beam of a total station; GPS equipment provides accurate location on the Earth's surface and helps you set up the appropriate coordinate system for the survey, while it is only sometimes used for the actual capture of points on-site in urban areas.

  1. Lay out control points and survey them with your GPS equipment
  2. Transfer these control point coordinates to the total station as the basis for all other points
  3. Set up the total station where it has a clear line of sight to the area being surveyed
  4. Walk to the first feature
  5. Capture survey points for the feature using prism and GPS equipment
  6. Repeat until the survey is complete, moving the prism and GPS equipment as needed
  7. Return to the office
  8. Process and analyze the data
  9. Draft survey deliverables (maps, reports, models, etc.)

Common deliverables

  • Digital elevation model (DEM): A 3D representation of the Earth’s bare surface, excluding natural features. Indicates elevation values at regular intervals.
  • Digital terrain model (DTM): A 3D model that augments the DEM with natural features such as rivers, vegetation, etc.
  • 3D building models: A geo-located model that indicates the position, layout, and dimensions of any structures on site.
  • Computer-aided drafting (CAD) map: A 2D map that uses points and line drawings to indicate all necessary details and features.
NavVis-VLX-3-Culver-Street-topographic-mapping-09108_small

Workflow: Virtual survey with a terrestrial laser scanner (TLS)

Tools

Scanning total station or terrestrial laser scanner.  These use lidar (light detection and ranging) sensors to capture a large number of site measurements, creating a dense and accurate 3D dataset known as a point cloud. Total stations or GPS systems are normally used to set up the control network to which the point cloud of the terrestrial laser scanner will tie in.

  1. Set up the scanner to ensure maximum coverage with minimal obstructions
  2. Capture a point cloud
  3. Move the scanner to the next location ensuring overlap with previous scans for full coverage
  4. Repeat these steps until you have covered the whole site
  5. Return to the office
  6. Register the individual point clouds together using specialized point cloud software
  7. Perform survey measurements using virtual survey software
  8. Draft survey deliverables

Common deliverables

  • Digital elevation model (DEM): A 3D representation of the Earth’s bare surface, excluding natural features. Indicates elevation values at regular intervals.
  • Digital terrain model (DTM): A 3D model that augments the DEM with natural features such as rivers, vegetation, etc.
  • 3D building models: A geo-located model that indicates the position, layout, and dimensions of any structures on site.
  • Computer-aided drafting (CAD) map: A 2D map that uses points and line drawings to indicate all necessary details and features.

Check NavVis VLX 3 in action!

Denn Engineers, a top US surveying firm, tested NavVis technology against traditional survey methods in a complex urban area.

Point cloud data in .e57

CAD file in .dwg and .dxf

Plot in .pdf

A topographic survey workflow comparison in .pdf

Pain points

These workflows provide reliable ways to survey a site from boundary to boundary. But both present significant challenges.

Here are the most common pain points for traditional surveys.

  1. Deliberate and time-consuming
    Surveying with a total station is a meticulous process that requires capturing a lot of measurements to accurately define features. Think of a simple feature like a straight curb: You’ll need to capture a survey point every 15-20 meters to define the line. If the curb includes curves, you’ll need to capture an extra three points. And you will need to capture even more points for more complex features. On a large site with numerous complex features, the number of survey points grows quickly—as does the project duration. And it is not about the number of measurements, but about walking between them. To capture a road, for example, you would walk the length of the curb, trace this feature, walk back down the curb to record the channel line, walk up to the center of the road to record the center line, and finally repeat all this for the other side of the road. So, the length of a simple stretch of road ends up being covered multiple times, taking considerable time and energy.

  2. Perceived slowness with a static scanner 
    Tripod-mounted laser scanners are much faster than traditional total stations, but they can still feel slow and deliberate. Adding the time to set up the scanner, make your capture, and move to the next station, it will take you longer than necessary to get a single point cloud. When a survey requires even a dozen setups, that can mean a long time in the field. 

  3. Traditional surveys are not comprehensive
    Best practice for total station survey says you should only survey features defined in the project scope. This approach, while efficient in terms of project focus, can become inefficient if project requirements change or expand. So the problem comes when a stakeholder contacts you later to ask for survey details on a feature outside the scope, like a boundary or curb line. This requires a return to the site and a second survey, at extra time and expense. 

  4. Gaps in data
    A laser scanner can only capture features within its line of sight. If you don’t plan carefully, accounting for every occlusion and adding extra scans to ensure good coverage, you may end up with blank spots in your scan data. And the feature you’re trying to survey could be lost in one of those blank spots. 

  5. Safety concerns
    The need to physically place prisms or GPS equipment - or detail poles - near survey points can pose significant safety risks. Surveying a road line, for example, means standing in the center of a busy road. It is easy to imagine how this is a serious concern in traditional survey workflows.  

  6. Lack of photographic documentation
    Photographs add rich, valuable context to any survey. Unfortunately, most classic equipment does not automatically capture all the images you want. That means it’s up to you, the surveyor, to manually capture photos. While you’re already busy completing a complex survey. The result is that photographic coverage often takes a back seat. 
point-cloud-culver-city-520-topography-page-1

Advancements in survey tech: SLAM scanning

Simultaneous localization and mapping (SLAM) scanners promise to change how we perform topographic survey.

A SLAM scanner is much like a terrestrial scanner in that it captures 3D data fit for use in a virtual survey workflow. However, SLAM scanners are different in one very important way: They exploit sophisticated sensors and algorithms to make huge improvements to your 3D capture workflow.

These devices enable you to capture 3D data at walking speed. They produce fully colored, photorealistic point clouds; automate the registration process; and even reduce your travel expenses. And that’s not all.

But before we dive into the benefits, let’s start at the beginning and answer some of your basic questions about SLAM.

NavVis-VLX-3-Culver-Street-topographic-mapping-09157_small

Intro to SLAM

SLAM is not a specific hardware or software but a broad term for a technological process. It was developed in the ‘80s to help robots navigate autonomously through new environments without a map. Today, SLAM is used in various applications, from autonomous vehicles to smartphone augmented reality apps. It is also a crucial element in the latest generation of laser scanners.

There are many approaches to SLAM, but the basic idea is similar across all implementations. To demonstrate how it works, here’s a high-level explanation of the SLAM process in 3D scanning:

  1. You turn on the SLAM scanner
  2. It captures your surroundings using lidar, cameras, and other sensors
  3. The SLAM algorithm processes this data to “identify” features around you
  4. It uses these features to build a rough 3D map
  5. And estimates its own location on that map
  6. When you move the device, it collects new data from its sensors
  7. The SLAM algorithm uses this data to improve its 3D map
  8. Which helps it improve its location estimate
  9. And so on

Repeating these steps thousands of times per second, a top-grade SLAM scanner like NavVis VLX 3 tracks its own path as you carry it. It also builds a crisp 3D map of the site at a very high level of accuracy.

Check out our comprehensive educational guide here for a much more in-depth exploration of SLAM →

SLAM is like total station survey

You may read that explanation and still think that SLAM feels like a black-box technology. If so, it may help to learn that a good SLAM scanner relies on many of the same principles as a good total-station survey.

Foresight and backsight readings

In traditional total station surveys, foresight and backsight readings are critical for accuracy. Backsight readings involve pointing the total station towards a reference point with a known elevation, while foresight readings are taken towards the new point to be measured. These readings help establish the position and elevation of the total station and the point being surveyed. 

SLAM scanners also reference previously established points to determine their position in three dimensions. While you might make these calculations every so often, a SLAM scanner does it continuously, improving the accuracy and precision of its measurements. 

Traverse closures

When you’re working with total station, you’ll sometimes complete the job by surveying the starting point again. This is called a closed traverse, and it allows you to check and correct for any discrepancies or errors in the measurements. You can do the equivalent with a SLAM scanner by performing a loop closure. 

Simply return to a previously captured area. The system will automatically use this known location as a reference point, take more readings, and correct errors that may have accumulated throughout the scan.

Control network

You begin a survey by setting a control network, which involves establishing survey points and benchmarks. This grid becomes a reference for all other survey readings you take throughout the survey.

Some advanced SLAM scanners, like NavVis VLX 3, can also use a control network as a reference. When you process the data in the cloud, sophisticated algorithms will use these control points—in addition to the readings we mentioned above—to tighten up the accuracy of the final point cloud.

point-cloud-culver-city-519-topography-page-1

Workflow: SLAM scanning for topo or detail surveys

Though each SLAM scanner offers its own unique workflow, the general idea is the same. Here’s how to capture a topographic survey using NavVis VLX 3:

  1. Establish a survey control network across the site
  2. Walk the site with a NavVis VLX 3 to capture a 3D data set and HD panoramas
  3. Use the built-in touchscreen interface to monitor your scanning progress in real time and mark control points
  4. Align the belt hook of NavVis VLX 3 with control points to trigger their capture
  5. Save your data and upload it to NavVis IVION for cloud processing and optimization
  6. Produce any other desired survey deliverable using specialized software
Workflow-NavVis-3rd-Party

Featured news

Ten benefits of SLAM scanning in topo and detail survey (plus one)

SLAM scanning offers several huge benefits in topo and detail survey.

1. Accelerated capture
First, the big one: speed. Since SLAM scanners capture 3D data as you walk, they expedite capture workflows significantly. Consider a site that would take 11 hours to capture with a total station. Years of field testing and professional experience have shown you could complete the same capture in just 2 hours with a SLAM scanner.

Find out just how fast NavVis VLX 3 is compared to a terrestrial laser scanner →

2. Good accuracy
Surveyors were skeptical of early SLAM scanners because they produced point clouds with low accuracy. Today, the technology is fully mature.

A top-grade SLAM scanning system like NavVis VLX 3 can produce a point cloud of 5 mm accuracy or better, especially when you snap the data down to survey control. That data is more than accurate enough to discern elements like the front of curb and back of curb. Or to produce deliverables like DTMs, DEMs, or CAD maps.

3. No missing data
SLAM scanners like NavVis VLX 3 include a built-in touchscreen interface that offers live visual feedback on scanning progress. The screen makes it easy to spot a shadow in the data and fill it in by walking around an occlusion. The result is a comprehensive 3D data set with measurements for every feature on site.

4. Automatic registration
Most of the time, a total station - which generates one point cloud for each capture - will be set up on a survey nail, or its position will be established via resection; when this does not happen, before preparing deliverables, you'll need to register together all the point clouds generated. Unfortunately, the registration process for tripod-based scanners is often time-intensive.

SLAM scanning systems automate this registration process to save you time. NavVis VLX 3, for example, harnesses all the computational power of NavVis IVION to process, optimize, and geo-register point clouds with minimal human oversight.

5. Photo-realistic point clouds
A SLAM scanner like NavVis VLX 3 uses multiple 360° cameras to capture high-definition imagery as you walk. During the processing stage, the companion software, NavVis IVION, combines these photos with the point cloud to produce a photo-realistic 3D data set.



You can use these colorized point clouds to examine details around the site, just like looking at photographs (but better, because you can take measurements, too). You can zoom in on road lines, curbs, and structures for a close look and answer questions like, Is the road cracking? Is the pavement fresh? Does this bus shelter need replacement?

6. Automated CAD deliverables
If you want to speed up your survey workflow further, you can export your point cloud after processing and use 3rd party tools like TopoDOT, n4ce, and SCC-CAD to automatically extract linework, features, and details for producing high-quality CAD deliverables quickly.

7. Improved safety
A SLAM scanner like NavVis VLX 3 can capture measurements to an operational range of 50 meters. That means you can get data on road lines or other details without putting yourself in danger.

8. No traffic closures
By keeping you out of the road, SLAM scanning eliminates the need for traffic closures when performing a topo or detail survey of a roadway. The result is significant savings for your client.

9. Reduced travel time and expenses
A SLAM scanner produces a comprehensive, detailed, and accurate 3D data set that enables you to perform a virtual survey from the office. As a result, when a project stakeholder needs new survey data not defined in the original scope, you can simply open up the 3D data set in your software and perform another virtual survey—no travel required.

10. Versatility
SLAM scanning systems are robust enough for use in many environments, including office interiors, industrial facilities, construction sites, parking garages, utility buildings, bridges, and urban environments like intersections.

11. Efficient (and happy) crew
Another fundamental plus on site. Field teams can be difficult to staff, as skilled labor is scarce. Employing SLAM technology in topographic and detail surveys has the considerable advantage of keeping the field crew more efficient as well as provide the opportunity to take on more projects with your existing team. The quality of your jobs will improve, and with most of the work being moved from busy streets at the mercy of the weather to the office, your team will be happier.

point-cloud-culver-city-522-topography-page-1

The real-world economics of SLAM scanning

Let’s explore what these benefits mean for a surveying business. Here are a few real-world tests where NavVis’ customers compared NavVis VLX 3 against traditional survey methods.

Urban road capture

We are talking about a detail survey of a road junction — a site of approximately 5,000 sqm with few obstacles, a low amount of occlusions, consistent lighting, a long line of sight, and a large field of view.

Compared to traditional survey methods, NavVis VLX 3 offers:

  • 2.5X faster acquisition
  • 2.1X faster office work
  • A 35% total reduction in labor time
lp-reduce-time-scenario-urban-road-survey-box-720x500

A NavVis customer reduced the time spent on site by a remarkable 87.5%, with fewer traffic management outlays and lower overall costs. 

lp-reduce-time-scenario-empty-parking-garage-box-720x500

Parking garage survey

Here, we survey 45,000 sqm of empty parking lot with similar capture conditions. 

Compared to traditional survey methods, NavVis VLX 3 offers:

  • 2.5X faster data acquisition
  • 4.2X faster office work
  • A 57% total reduction in labor time
NavVis-VLX-3-Culver-Street-linework-517-webinar-advancing-topographic-surveys-events-page-04092024-wp-featured (1)

Get the latest news as it happens

You'll get the latest updates, news, and industry insights – plus the occasional newsflash – direct from the team at NavVis.