Skip to content
NavVis-VLX-casestudy-Crew-B_Header_3704 × 1480px

Crew-B 用 NavVis VLX 在一天内扫描多个生产场地

案例研究
2021年3月

为欧洲健身馆的市场领先企业建立房地产和 BIM 的连接,Crew-B 利用 NavVis VLX 开发了完美的点云建模(scan-to-BIM)工作流程。

关键点

  • NavVis VLX 非常适合快速捕捉多个厂点,一周内可扫描多达15个场地,一个月可扫描45,000m2。

  • 在他们的点云扫描工作流程中,Crew-B 拥有了利用 LOD ( 详 细 程 度)300来创建 BIM 模型的最佳数据质量。

  • NavVis VLX 紧凑的设计和存放方式对于需要旅行奔波的工作来说是理想选择。

  • NavVis IVION 的 Cloud Processing Add-on(云处理插件)在团队成员还在路上的时候,就能通过数据集进行运算。

  • 公司计划随着业务的发展,投资更多的技术人员和 NavVis VLX 单位产品,以扩大规模。

NavVis-VLX-casestudy-Crew-B_Team_960x960px

 

BIM——让企业健康发展

Crew-B 由三个年轻的企业家组成。他们目标明确——将房地产与建筑信息模型(BIM )连接起来。Matthias Louwerens、Twan Burger 和 Jorginho Kors 是训练有素的专家们,他们的总部位于荷兰,业务遍布于欧洲各地,自2018年以来提供卓越的 BIM 和现实捕捉服务。

他们最大的客户之一是欧洲健身市场的主导企业。在荷兰、比利时、卢森堡、法国和西班牙拥有超过220万名会员和905家分店,该健身连锁店的资产组合至少有100万m2,并且还在不断增长。

Crew-B 赢得业务的方式包括通过展示如何利用 Autodesk REVIT 制作的 BIM 模型来有效规划健身房设备的平面布局,还有资产管理和设施管理等附加应用。

全天候扫描

Crew-B 的客户正将他们的健身房转换为24小时运营的模式,Crew-B 的任务是提供支持数据管理和多种升级的 BIM 模型。这些改进的例子包括急救站、安全摄像头,以及消防出口。Crew-B 最初的任务是为430个地点提供 BIM 模型,但项目的范围已经扩大到为所有905个地点提供建筑现状文档。

但他们的工作并没有就此停止。所有五个市场的客户中平均每周就有三个新场地开设,而他们宏大的目标是将欧洲的俱乐部数量扩大到4000家。Crew-B 还提供其它服务包括对新收购的场地进行调查,帮助其发展成健身俱乐部。实际上,他们正将现有的以及新的物业资产纳入标准化的 BIM 文档中。

想了解更多有关如何将移动扫描整合到您现有的激光扫描工作流程中的信息吗?

与专家交流

精度、速度和规模 :取得平衡

Crew-B 正在迅速扩大业务规模,以满足客户的期望。在过去徒手测量场地的他们需要更有效的方法来采集数据,以便在 Autodesk REVIT中创建他们的 BIM 模型。

然而,对健身馆这样的室内空间进行扫描的挑战在于,这样的环境无法使用 GNSS(全球导航卫星系统)。用于定位的卫星信号在室内会受到混凝土、管道和电线等东西的阻碍或被削弱。而在没有绝对基准的情况下,测量人员想要在室内建立非常可靠或准确的基准点,则需要另一种方式。

激光扫描设备则可以解决这一问题。在研究市场时,该团队可以选择能够绑定投射到 GNSS 无效区域的测量点的设备,或者采用 SLAM(同时定位和地图构建) 技术的设备。无论哪种方式,都可以使用激光扫描设备生成的高质量点云数据来创建 BIM 模型——这个过程也被称为点云建模(scan-to-BIM)

在评估他们的选择时,团队觉得架站仪对于大批量的扫描来说速度太慢,而手持式激光扫描仪的精度也达不到要求。随后,NavVis 推出的一款提供测绘级的精度的可穿戴式扫描设备:“NavVis VLX 绝对是这项工作的最佳工具,” Twan Burger 说,“在精度、速度和规模之间提供了适当的平衡。”

最重要的是,由于 NavVis VLX 既具有 SLAM 功能,又能在 GNSS 无效的环境中与测量点绑定,因此它比市场上其他 SLAM 设备更准确,抗漂移能力更强。

“我们在扫描和 BIM 建模之间交替工作一周,大花费了量的时间在差旅上。而现在我们出差一次能扫描更多的俱乐部,平均每周扫描约15家俱乐部,最多一天扫描了6家。而一个俱乐部的平均面积是1500平方米,这意味着我们一个月大概能扫描45000平方米。”

Twan-Burger

Twan Burger
Crew-B 联合创始人

 

 

NavVis-VLX-casestudy-Crew-B_pointcloud-2_3704 × 1480px

动态对象删除提供了清晰的点云

团队的所有成员都对 NavVis VLX 影响深刻,并列举了它的许多功能,例如能够以步行的速度进行扫描,采集的数据质量很高,以及实用性强,能够暂停扫描或通过操作屏幕来确认没有遗漏区域。

在扫描一个24小时不间断运作的健身俱乐部时,删除动态对象这样的功能非常有价值。“会员全天都在使用健身房,从一台机器到另一台机器” Matthias Louwerens 说,“因此删除动态对象对于提供一个清晰的点云” 非常有用。

而需要扫描和建模的场地众多,团队中每一个参与项目的成员都需要亲力亲为。因此当 Crew-B 可以最大限度地减少差旅时间和生产成本时,将很有益处。

“3D 模型要比 2D 平面图的价值高,因为一个房间的高度信息很重要,有些高度不一定能容纳健身房的机器。如果把一台沉重的机器运到另一个国家,却发现放不进健身房里,那样的代价将会非常昂贵。”

Matthias-Louwerens

Matthias Louwerens
Crew-B 联合创始人

 

 

交付更好的产品

每一个被扫描的俱乐部都会被托管在 NavVis IVION 上,团队可以使用该测量工具、全景图像和自动生成平面图等功能。他们也开始使用新的 Cloud Processing Add-on(云处理插件)以提高在别的工作进行的同时压缩数据的效率。“如果你注重高速,那么云处理工具就是你理想的选择” Twan说。

此外,Crew-B 继续广泛使用 Autodesk REVIT 来制作他们的 BIM 模型,将点云和全景图像导入软件中,以创建3D模型、2D平面图和高达 LOD(详细程度)300的建筑层,来获取有关工厂、建筑结构和空间规划的信息。他们的客户现在已经不再需要亲临每个健身房,只需远程检查每个场馆即可。

总的来说,该团队发现,用 NavVis VLX 扫描的速度至少是其他设备的三倍。“它的扫描结果更加完整和准确”,Jorginho Kors 说:“你为客户提供了更好、质量更高的产品,这将为我们吸引更多的客户。”

展望未来,随着 Crew-B 的业务扩张,他们打算吸纳更多的员工——或更多的可穿戴扫描设备——来协助他们的工作。

“NavVis VLX 非常易于使用,我们有信心能够雇佣更多的技术人员,并对他们进行工厂扫描的快速培训。”

Jorginho-Kors

Jorginho Kors
Crew-B 联合创始人

 

 

NavVis-LSP-background-website

在移动扫描革命中向前更进一步

移动扫描设备的速度和可扩展性是有史以来数一数二的,为最具挑战性的项目带来测绘级的精度。亲自体验 NavVis VLX,发掘无限可能。
预定演示

Skip to content
NavVis-VLX-casestudy-Crew-B_Header_3704 × 1480px

Crew-B uses NavVis VLX to scan multiple sites in a single day

Case study
March 2021

Connecting real estate with BIM for the European market leader in fitness gyms, Crew-B has developed the perfect scan-to-BIM workflow with NavVis VLX.

Key takeaways

  • NavVis VLX is perfect for rapidly capturing multiple sites, scanning up to 15 locations in a single week, or 45,000 m2 a month.

  • With their scan-to-BIM workflow, Crew-B has optimal data quality to create BIM models with LOD (level of detail) 300.

  • The compact design and storage of NavVis VLX is ideal for traveling between different locations.

  • The Cloud Processing Add-on for NavVis IVION crunches through data sets while members of the team are still on the road.

  • The company plans to scale up by investing in more technicians and NavVis VLX units as the business grows.

NavVis-VLX-casestudy-Crew-B_Team_960x960px

 

BIM for a healthy business

Crew-B are a trio of young entrepreneurs with a clear purpose – to connect real estate with Building Information Modeling (BIM). Based in the Netherlands and operating all over Europe, Matthias Louwerens, Twan Burger and Jorginho Kors are trained specialists providing exceptional BIM and reality capture services since 2018.

One of their biggest clients is the European market leader in the fitness market. With more than 2.2 million members and 905 locations in the Netherlands, Belgium, Luxembourg, France and Spain, the fitness chain has a property portfolio of at least 1,000,000 m2 and growing.

Crew-B won the business by demonstrating how BIM models made with Autodesk REVIT could be used to efficiently plan the floor layout of gym equipment and more besides, with additional applications like asset management and facilities management.

Scanning around the clock

The client is converting their gyms to 24-hour operation and Crew-B's brief is to provide BIM models that support data administration and the rollout of multiple upgrades. Examples of these improvements include first aid-stations, security camera coverage, and fire exits. Crew-B were initially tasked with delivering BIM models for 430 sites, but the scope of the project has grown to provide as-built documentation for all 905 locations.

But the work doesn’t stop there. The client is opening an average of three new sites a week across all five markets, with an ambitious goal to expand to 4,000 clubs across Europe. Crew-B provides additional services by surveying newly acquired sites for development into fitness clubs. In effect, they’re bringing both existing and new property assets into standardized BIM documentation.

Eager to learn more about how to integrate mobile mapping into your existing laser scanning workflows?

Talk to an expert

Striking a balance between accuracy, speed & scale

Crew-B is rapidly scaling up their business to meet the expectations of their client. Where previously they took measurements of a site by hand, they needed more efficient methods to capture the data for creating their BIM models in Autodesk REVIT.

The challenge in mapping an indoor space like a fitness gym, however, is that it’s an environment where GNSS (global navigation satellite system) is denied. Satellite signals for positioning are obstructed or weakened indoors by things like concrete, pipework and wiring. And without an absolute reference, surveyors need another means of creating very reliable or accurate reference points indoors.

Laser scanning devices can bridge this gap. Researching the market, the team could choose from devices capable of tying into measurement points projected into the GNSS-denied area, or a device featuring SLAM (simultaneous localization and mapping) technologies. Either way, it becomes possible to create BIM models using high-quality data from point clouds generated with a laser scanning device – a process otherwise known as scan-to-BIM.

Evaluating their options, the team found terrestrial laser scanners were too slow to setup for scanning at volume, while handheld laser scanners didn’t have the required level of accuracy. But then came the launch of a new wearable mapping device offering survey-grade accuracy: “NavVis VLX is absolutely the best tool for the job,” says Twan Burger, “providing the right balance between accuracy, speed and scale.”

Best of all, because NavVis VLX has both SLAM capabilities and can tie into measurement points in GNSS-denied environments, it’s even accurate and resilient to drift than other SLAM devices on the market.

“We alternate our working weeks between scanning and BIM modeling, and we spend of lot of time traveling. We can now scan more clubs in a single trip, scanning about 15 clubs a week on average – the most we scanned was six in a single day. Where one club is an average of 1,500 m2 in size, it means we're scanning roughly 45,000 m2 a month.”

Twan-Burger

Twan Burger
Co-founder, Crew-B

 

 

NavVis-VLX-casestudy-Crew-B_pointcloud-2_3704 × 1480px

Dynamic object removal delivers a clean point cloud

All of the team are impressed with NavVis VLX, citing many features such as the ability to scan at the speed of walking, the high quality of the data they’ve captured, and the usability that enables them to pause scanning or use the screen to verify that no areas have been missed.

Features like dynamic object removal are also incredibly valuable when scanning a fitness club that’s operational 24 hours around the clock. “Members use the gym at all hours of the day, moving from machine to machine,” says Matthias Louwerens, “so dynamic object removal is really useful for delivering a clean point cloud.”

And with so many sites that require both scanning and modeling, every member of the team is completely hands on with the project. That means it’s also helpful when Crew-B can minimize the amount of time spent traveling and the costs incurred.

“Proof of value for 3D models over 2D floorplans is that the height of the room doesn’t always accommodate the gym machinery. It’s very expensive to ship a heavy machine to another country and then find out afterwards that it doesn’t fit in the gym.”

Matthias-Louwerens

Matthias Louwerens
Co-founder, Crew-B

 

 

Delivering a better product

Every club that’s scanned is hosted on NavVis IVION, and the team makes use of features like the measurement tool, panoramic photos, and automatically generated floorplans. They’ve also started using the new Cloud Processing Add-on for increased efficiency with data crunching while on the fly. “When you want to be quick, the cloud processing tool is what you want,” says Twan.

Plus, Crew-B continue to make extensive use of Autodesk REVIT for their BIM models, importing the point clouds and panoramic images into the software to create 3D models, 2D floorplans, and building layers with up to LOD (level of detail) 300 for information concerning the site, building structure, and space plan. Their client no longer needs to physically visit each gym; now they can inspect each location remotely.

In total, the team finds that scanning with NavVis VLX is at least three times faster than other methods. “It’s far more complete and far more accurate,” says Jorginho Kors. “You deliver a better product to your client, of a greater quality, which we expect will unlock more customers for us down the road.”

Looking to the future, as Crew-B expands as a business, they intend to take on more staff – and perhaps wearable mapping devices – to assist with the workload.

“NavVis VLX is so easy to use, we’re confident that we’ll be able to hire more technicians and quickly train them for scanning sites.”

Jorginho-Kors

Jorginho Kors
Co-founder, Crew-B

 

 

NavVis-LSP-background-website

Take the next step in the mobile mapping revolution

The speed and scalability of mobile mapping devices are the best they've ever been, bringing survey-grade accuracy to the most challenging projects. Get hands on with NavVis VLX and see for yourself what's possible.
Book a demo