Skip to content
e-site-case-study-header

现实捕捉工作流程提高了核退役的安全标准

案例分析
2021年6月

芬兰 eSite 公司使用 NavVis 现实捕捉技术,使核电站退役这项复杂的工作更加安全和高效。

关键点

  • 利用解放您的双手的 NavVis VLX 移动扫描设备,虚拟现实解决方案供应商 eSite 开发了独特的工作流程,以帮助工程师们更好的完成欧洲各地的核退役项目。

  • 现实捕捉核电站结构、系统和部件的安全性和速度得到了极大的改善。

  • 操作员、维护承包商、工程专家、项目团队和安全培训提供者等人员现在可以拥有最新的3D文件来计划他们的任务。

  • 支持ALARA的关键安全原则——"尽可能低"——将放射性区域的辐射暴露时间最小化。

  • 除了核工业之外,同样的技术和工作流程也可以很容易地应用于其他安全相关的关键领域和重工业——包括石油、天然气和其他发电站。

 

Suomenoja_034-scaled-1

 

重新定义核工业的安全和效率

拆除各种类型的重型工业设备是一项大规模的复杂任务——尤其是涉及到核电站退役时,挑战就会增倍。

除了要准确规划哪些设备应该按什么顺序进行工作之外,由于工人在工厂内的时间有限,尽量减少他们的辐射暴露使该过程变得非常复杂。

利用解放您的双手的 NavVis VLX 移动扫描系统,虚拟现实解决方案供应商 eSite 开发了独特的工作流程,以帮助工程师们更好的完成欧洲各地的核退役项目。

eSite 将快速现实捕捉与虚拟现实相结合,重新定义了核工业安全和效率的可能性。

想了解更多有关如何将移动扫描整合到您现有的激光扫描工作流程中的信息吗?

与专家交流

移动扫描需符合严格的安全标准

含有核材料的电站退役的过程既复杂又有自身的危险性。在任何工厂中都可能有比其他位置辐射暴露水平更高的区域——在这些地区工作的首要原则是在尽可能短的时间内完成工作,与辐射源保持一定距离的同时屏蔽辐射源(ALARA-原则, "尽可能低")。保持暴露时间 "尽可能低 "的原则是核工业安全的基础:从成本和安全的角度来看,在放射性区域停留的时间越少越好。

对于新建项目来说,详细的3D模型能使该复杂的规划变得更容易,但对于欧洲各地正在关闭的老厂来说,并没有合适的3D模型。对于一个时间是关键因素的环境,传统的地面激光扫描流程有明显的缺点——现场工作缓慢,而且在工作中你会接触到核电站的建筑构架。扫描专家可能没有进入关键区域的许可或培训,而且他们自身的风险也在增加。

够极大地提高核电站结构、系统和部件的安全性和现实捕捉的速度,并通过这种方式为核电站的员工提供宝贵的 3D 环境,便于他们规划任务。

NavVis 专业从事扫描设备和软件的开发,旨在快速和准确地捕获建筑环境。NavVis VLX 是一个肩扛式移动扫描设备,专为在困难、狭小或不平整的环境中工作而设计,并能解放您的双手。通过将 NavVis VLX 整合到核电退役工作流程中,Fortum 公司的 eSite 能这样不仅可以节省资金还能减少工人的接触的辐射量。
 

对于核电站等具有挑战性环境的扫描,SLAM 扫描(同步定位与地图构建)已经成为准确度和速度之间的一个交汇点,因为它能够自我参照,甚至在移动中也能定位。虽然它在各种条件下都不比静态扫描仪更精确,但 SLAM 扫描能够通过走动进行连续扫描,其细节程度高于标准水平。结合更多便捷用户的、需要更少培训的流程的部署, SLAM 扫描工作流程有能力大幅减少捕捉室内空间所需的时间。

NavVis-VLX-HQ-Jan21-9155

优化时间、安全和保障的工作流程

eSite 作为 Fortum 公司的一个服务部门成立于2019年,是一家工业虚拟现实解决方案供应商,他们对工厂和建筑工地的复杂环境并不陌生。比如,Fortum 核服务公司在芬兰的第一个核退役项目中使用了 eSite,即 FiR 1 核研究反应堆的退役。在核工业中安全工作显然是一个关键问题,而芬兰的核安全也在40多年来一直不断改进。

接下来,利用现实捕捉得到的核退役区域来创建逼真的3D点云模型,可以创造出一个额外的安全层。eSite 公司负责人 Miko Olkkonen 说,由于需要尽量减少操作人员在现场执行核退役任务所花费的时间,因此他们所遵循的工作程序必须高效且准确——如果在现实捕捉生成的虚拟现实中进行演练,那么成功的可能性就会增加。

"停运核电站中的一个房间或区域意味着需要进入那里,切断一些曾经有放射性水的管道,而且得安全地完成。因此这些操作都应该尽可能快,尽可能安全地完成,并将接触的辐射量降到最小。"

我们可以上午进行现实捕捉,下午处理该数据,将扫描结果导入虚拟现实眼镜,这样现场操作人员就可以练习他们需要做的工作,即15分钟的管道切割。

miko-oikkonen-sw

Miko Olkkonen
Fortum 公司 eSite 负责人

 

 

e-site-case-study-2

从几年到几分钟

在对工作流程进行虚拟规划时,可对其细节进行优化,以便快速、准确地完成任务,避免辐射热点的出现。在放射性的核设备区域采取的每一个行动都暴露在辐射中。"尽可能低"的原则驱动着该任务中的每一个决定。当与其他也能绘制辐射图的传感器相结合时,辐射热点的叠加可以被增强到可视化中有助于提前识别风险区域。

“我们可以上午进行现实捕捉,下午处理该数据,将扫描结果导入虚拟现实眼镜,这样现场操作人员就可以练习他们需要做的工作,即15分钟的管道切割。在虚拟现实中,你可以演练行走的位置,做出的行动,以及设备放置的位置。你可以练习加快操作速度,减少步骤并避免热点。Olkkonen 说:"当然,在核退役的过程中环境会发生变化,但好处是你可以抛弃一开始的现实捕捉,下次在需要的地方展开新的现实捕捉。

在 Fortum 核电服务有限公司和 eSite 公司运行所在的芬兰核电站内,有些放射性区域和房间只在核电站的年度停工期间的几天内允许人员进出。在这几天里,数以百计的维修任务以分钟的精确度计时。

十年来的最佳做法一直是进入这些地区,进行架站式激光扫描。这使得扫描人员在核厂无法进入的运营阶段仍能为明年的停工任务进行规划。

即使进行了10多个小时的扫描工作,我们也只能捕捉到有限的部分。在这些放射区中的每一刻都会增加测绘小组接触的辐射量。2015年,为了提高扫描的覆盖率并减少接触辐射量,Fortum 开始用360度全局图像和视频来捕捉这些区域。这将现场数据采集的时间从10多个小时减少到几个小时。虽然这种技术减少了辐射量,但它不能测量所有方位的距离,也无法提取对停厂规划和工程至关重要的3D信息。

如今,NavVis VLX 这样的新的移动现实捕捉技术已经再次减少了在这些挑战性地区的现场工作时间——从几个小时到大约四十五分钟,将接触的辐射量减少到之前的三分之一。通过结合架站式激光扫描、360度全景视频和 NavVis VLX 的移动现实捕捉数据,eSite 现在可以拥有广泛的扫描范围、高度精确的测量数据、逼真的图像以及可以在尽可能少的时间内完成这些操作。对于核工业来说,这将带来可见的好处:更低的辐射量、更短的停工期和更高的安全性。而这正是 eSite 和 Fortum 能够通过其全球核电站现实捕捉服务为核工业提供的东西。

如果您是核电站业主、核退役承包商或从事核退役相关工作,请从 Fortum 核服务获取更多的核电站具体的现实捕捉参考案例和白皮书。

NavVis-IndoorViewer-HQ-Jan21-9857

核电站本身的扫描是提前数周计划好的,在现场只需在最短的时间内进行一次性扫描。对于特别敏感的区域,eSite 与已具备相应知识、权限和培训的工厂人员合作,甚至会自己进入场地扫描。

NavVis VLX 的独特外形让操作人员可以解放双手,在扫描的同时执行其他任务或测量,并避免在扫描时接触到任何建筑表面。滚动式的的扫描系统很容易从工厂的地板上沾染核污染,有时还需要在项目完成后进行特殊的净化甚至丢弃。同样的空间里,当操作人员利用可穿戴的 VLX 行走时,可以最大限度地减少设备上积累的污染——这样可以节省时间并降低净化成本。

在核设施中工作所遵循的流程会不断演变,每一次都重新界定"尽可能"——把扫描时间减到最小,并把安全性提升到最高。Olkkonen 说,随着这些操作流程标准的提高,其反响可能会触及到整个核工业。

“这里存在一个有趣的反转:如今现实捕捉核电站已经变得合理可行了,那么核工业的企业就没理由不这样做。'合理’的标杆下降了,说明安全度上升了。"

除了核工业之外,同样的技术和工作流程也可以轻易地应用于其他安全相关的关键领域和重工业——包括石油、天然气和其他发电站。只要可以从限制人员进入危险区或通过虚拟模型来练习工作程序中受益,工厂业主便可以在保持甚至提高安全性的同时,全面降低成本。

 

 

 

“这里存在一个有趣的反转:如今现实捕捉核电站已经变得合理可行了,那么相关就没理由不这样做。“合理”的标杆降低了,说明安全度提高了。"

miko-oikkonen-sw

Miko Olkkonen
Fortum 公司 eSite 负责人

 

 

NavVis-LSP-background-website

在移动扫描革命中向前更进一步

移动扫描设备的速度和可扩展性是有史以来数一数二的,为最具挑战性的项目带来测绘级的精度。亲自体验 NavVis VLX,发掘无限可能。

预定演示

Skip to content
e-site-case-study-header

Reality capture workflows raise the bar for safety in nuclear decommissioning

Case study
June 2021

Decommissioning a nuclear power plant is a complex undertaking made safer and more efficient by eSite in Finland using NavVis reality capture technology.

Key takeaways

  • Using hands-free mobile scanning with NavVis VLX, virtual reality solution provider eSite has developed unique workflows to aid engineers working on nuclear decommissioning projects across Europe.

  • The safety and speed of the reality capture of nuclear power plant structures, systems and components is dramatically improved.

  • Personnel like operators, maintenance contractors, engineering experts, project teams and safety training providers now have up-to-date 3D documentation they can use to plan their tasks.

  • Supports key safety principle of ALARA - "As Low as Reasonably Achievable" – to minimize radiation exposure times in controlled areas.

  • Beyond the nuclear industry, the same techniques and workflows can be readily applied to other safety critical and heavy industry – including oil, gas, and other power generation plants.

 

Suomenoja_034-scaled-1

 

Redefining safety & efficiency in the nuclear industry

Dismantling any type of heavy industrial equipment is always a massively complex undertaking – but when it comes to decommissioning nuclear power plants, the challenges are exponentially greater.

In addition to planning exactly what pieces of equipment will be worked on in what order, the process is complicated by the limited amount of time workers can spend within the plant itself to minimize their exposure to radiation.

Using hands-free mobile scanning with the NavVis VLX system, virtual reality solution provider eSite has developed unique workflows to aid engineers working on nuclear decommissioning projects across Europe.

Combining rapid reality capture with virtual reality, eSite has redefined what is possible for both safety and efficiency in the nuclear industry.

Eager to learn more about how to integrate mobile mapping into your existing laser scanning workflows?

Talk to an expert

Mobile mapping to meet rigorous safety standards

The process of decommissioning a power plant that contains nuclear materials is both complex and uniquely hazardous. In any plant there can be areas that have higher levels of radiation exposure than others – and the overarching principle for working in those areas is to perform the work in as little time as possible while keeping distance and shielding from radiation sources (ALARA–principle, ‘As Low As Reasonably Achievable’). The principle of maintaining exposure time “as low as reasonably achievable” is a cornerstone of safety in nuclear industry : the less time you spend in controlled areas, the better – from cost and safety perspective.

With new build projects, doing this complex planning with detailed 3D models is easier, but for the older plants which are being shut down across Europe, no such 3D models exist. For an environment in which time is a critical element, the traditional terrestrial laser scanning process has clear disadvantages – the field work is slow and during it you make contact with the plant structures. The scanning experts may not have clearance or training to enter critical areas, and they are also adding to their own personal risk of exposure.

NavVis specializes in scanning equipment and software designed for rapid and accurate capture. NavVis VLX is a shoulder-mounted mobile mapping device designed for work in difficult, tight or uneven environments, as well as providing hands-free access. By integrating NavVis VLX into nuclear decommissioning workflows, Fortum’s eSite has been able to improve dramatically the safety and speed of the reality capture of nuclear power plant structures, systems and components, and this way provide plant workers with valuable 3D environments that they can use to plan their tasks. This saves money and reduces the radiation dose of workers.

For mapping in challenging environments such as nuclear power plants, SLAM scanning (Simultaneous Localization And Mapping) has become a sweet spot between accuracy and speed because of its ability to self-reference and locate even while moving. While not as accurate as static scanners in all conditions, the SLAM scanning enables a continuous scan via a walkthrough with more than an appropriate level of detail. Combined with a more user-friendly process that requires less training to deploy, SLAM scanning workflows have the potential to drastically reduce the amount of time needed to capture indoor spaces.

NavVis-VLX-HQ-Jan21-9155

Workflows that optimize time, safety and security

Founded in 2019 as a service unit of Fortum, eSite is an industrial Virtual Reality solution provider who are no strangers to complex environments of plants, factories and construction sites. For example Fortum Nuclear Services is using eSite in the first nuclear decommissioning project in Finland, decommissioning of the FiR 1 nuclear research reactor. Working safely in the nuclear industry is a key concern, for obvious reasons, and nuclear safety in Finland has been improved continuously for more than 40 years.

By creating realistic 3D point cloud models from reality capture of areas due to be decommissioned next, an extra layer of safety can be created. Because the time spent by field operators performing decommissioning tasks at the field needs to be minimized, it is paramount that the work procedures they follow are both efficient and correct – something that can have an increased likelihood to succeed if rehearsed in virtual reality created through reality capture, says Miko Olkkonen, head of eSite.

“Having a room or an area that needs to be decommissioned in a nuclear plant means that you need to go in there, cut some pipes that once had radioactive water, and you need to do it safely. This also means that you need to do everything to make it as fast as possible and as safe as possible with the lowest radiation dose.”

“We can do the reality capture in the morning, process it for the afternoon, put the scan into virtual reality glasses, and the field operators can practice the work they need to do for a 15 minute cut of the pipe.”

miko-oikkonen-sw

Miko Olkkonen
Head of eSite at Fortum

 

 

e-site-case-study-2

From Years to Minutes

When planning the work procedures virtually it is possible to refine them to be completed quickly and accurately, avoiding radiation hot spots. Every action taken in the controlled area of the facility means time spent being exposed to radiation. The principle, “as low as reasonably achievable” drives each of these choices. When combined with other sensors that can also map radiation, an overlay of radiation hotspots can be augmented into the visualizations – helping to identify risky areas ahead of time.

“We can do the reality capture in the morning, process it for the afternoon, put the scan into virtual reality glasses, and the field operators can practice the work they need to do for a 15 minute cut of the pipe. In virtual reality, you can practice where you walk, what you do, where you keep your equipment. You can practice to do to it faster, with fewer steps, avoiding hot spots. Of course the environment changes during the decommissioning and the advantage is that you can discard the initial reality capture, and the next time you need to perform work in that location you take a new reality capture of that moment,” says Olkkonen.

Inside Finnish nuclear power plants, where Fortum Nuclear Services and eSite operate, there are radioactive areas and rooms that are accessible to people only for few days per year during the nuclear power plant’s annual outage. During these few days, hundreds of maintenance tasks are performed with a minute accurate schedule.

The best practice for a decade has been to go in to these areas and perform stationary laser scanning. This has enabled planning for next year’s outage tasks during the operating phase of the plant, though the areas are not physically accessible. Even with 10’s of hours of scanning work, we have been able to capture only limited sections.

Each moment spent in these controlled areas increases the radiation dose of the survey team. In 2015, to improve the coverage of the scan and to reduce received dose, Fortum began capturing these areas with 360 photos and video. This reduced the time of field data capturing from 10’s of hours to few hours. Though this technique reduced dose, it didn’t allow for measuring distances in all places nor extracting 3D information vital for the planning and engineering for outages.

Today, new mobile reality capture technologies like the NavVis VLX have reduced the field work time in these challenging areas even further – from many hours to about forty-five minutes, cutting the dose received even further into one third from earlier. Now by combining stationary laser scanning, 360 videos and mobile reality capture data from the NavVis VLX, eSite has found the sweet spot for extensive scanning coverage, highly accurate measures, photorealistic images and all this captured with the lowest time reasonably achievable. For the nuclear industry, this means concrete added value: lower dose, shorter outages and improved safety. And this is something that eSite and Fortum are able to provide for the nuclear industry with their global nuclear reality capture services.

If you are a nuclear power plant owner, outage contractor or work in nuclear decommissioning get more nuclear specific reality capture reference cases and white papers from Fortum Nuclear Services.

NavVis-IndoorViewer-HQ-Jan21-9857

The scans in nuclear power plants themselves are planned for weeks in advance, allowing them to be performed only once and in the shortest time possible. For especially sensitive areas eSite works with plant personnel who have the appropriate knowledge, access and training to go in and do the capture even themselves.

The unique form factor of the NavVis VLX allows for hands-free operation, which can enable personnel to perform other tasks or measurements alongside the scans, and avoids contact with any surfaces while the scan is taking place. Rolling cart-driven scanning systems were prone to picking up nuclear contamination from the floors of the plant, and would sometimes require special decontamination or even disposal after the project was done. Walking through the same room with the NavVis VLX on a workers’ shoulder minimizes the amount of contamination that accumulates on the equipment – this saves time and reduces decontamination costs.

The procedures followed in working in nuclear facilities have evolved over time, each time striving to define what is “reasonably achievable” – minimizing time and maximizing safety. With the bar being raised by these procedures, the repercussions may resonate throughout the nuclear industry, says Olkkonen.

“There’s an interesting twist: now that it is reasonably possible to do reality capture in nuclear power plants – the industry should do it. The bar for ‘reasonable’ has gone down, which means the safety has gone up.”

Beyond the nuclear industry, the same techniques and workflows can be readily applied to other safety critical and heavy industry – including oil and gas and other power generation plants. Anywhere that could benefit from limiting the access of people to hazardous areas or having a virtual model to practice work procedures, plant owners can drive costs down across the board while maintaining and even improving safety.

 

 

 

“There’s an interesting twist: now that it's reasonably possible to do reality capture in nuclear power plants – the industry should do it. The bar for ‘reasonable’ has gone down, which means the safety has gone up.”

miko-oikkonen-sw

Miko Olkkonen
Head of eSite at Fortum

 

 

NavVis-LSP-background-website

Take the next step in the mobile mapping revolution

The speed and scalability of mobile mapping devices are the best they've ever been, bringing survey-grade accuracy to the most challenging projects. Get hands on with NavVis VLX and see for yourself what's possible.

Book a demo